Switching from GB3 to GB4
No scores or assignments are lost when switching to GB4. You will, however, gain a number of new features. If you choose not to use any of these new features, the default settings mimic the behavior of GB3. The following conversion table will help guide you through the conversion process.
|Feature||Conversion To GB4|
|Grade Scales||Since multiple grades scales are supported, you must create those scales and set a default for each gradebook.|
|Extra Credit w/ Weighting||You may create a special extra credit category that works with weighting.|
|Custom Codes||GB3 treats all non-numeric scores as zeros but GB4 allows you to create custom codes. For example: create a code of "ab" for absent set its value to excused.|
|Custom Ordering||Both students and assignments have options for ordering as well as drag and drop capability for custom ordering.|
|Mode||A mode setting allows you toggle your view between points, percent, locked, and showing all students.|
|Number of columns||Choose between 10 or 15 columns of assignments per page.|
|Drop Lowest Score||Drop a single score to improve a student's grade.|
|Restore Saved Grades||Every time you save grades, our system stores that information, which allows you to restore grades to an earlier point in time.|
|Go To... Menu||This convenient menu is always present near the upper left corner of your gradebook and allows you to quickly jump to any assignment.|
Switching from GB4 to GB3
No scores or assignments are lost when switching to GB3. However, there are a number of features that will be lost and some of these may require reconfiguration on your part. The following conversion table will help guide you through the conversion process. Click here for a link to Help pages for GB3.
|Feature||Conversion To GB3|
|Grade Scales||Only one (1) grade scale per gradebook is allowed, so resetting your grade scales will be required. Also, GB3 does not allow you to apply a special grade scale to a single student.|
|Alternate Maximum Score||All students are scored on the same maximum value set for each assignment. If you had set an alternate maximum score on an assignment for an student, that value will revert to the maximum set for the assignment.|
|Extra Credit w/ Weighting||There is no special extra credit category. If used in GB4, this category will not be calculated into the student's grade. See our help page for adding extra credit when using weighting with GB3.|
|Custom Codes||GB3 treats all non-numeric scores as zeros. If you were using custom codes in GB4 with values other than zero, you will have to reenter numeric scores for those codes after switching. For example: if you had created a code of "ab" for absent and set it to have a value of "Excused", all instances of "ab" in GB3 will be counted as zero. To keep the student's score as you intended, change all instances of "ab" to either an empty cell or "E" (the only custom code allowed in GB3).
If you had previously published grades for students where custom codes were in use, the switch to GB3 and the loss of those custom codes will not affect the previously published progress reports. Just be sure to edit your custom codes in the gradebook (as described above) before you published grades again.
|Custom Ordering||Students are automatically order alphabetically and assignment are ordered by due dates with the newly assigned work added to the left. No custom ordering is available in GB3.|
|Mode||The only modes (views) offered in GB3 are to show or hide dropped students and to lock or unlock scores. You may toggle between these modes by clicking the appropriate buttons located just below the orange title bar.|
|Number of columns||Seven (7) columns of grades are displayed with no other options.|
|Drop Lowest Score||This feature is not available with GB3.|
|Restore Saved Grades||This feature is not available with GB3.|
|Go To... Menu||After eight (8) assignments have been added, a drop menu of all assignments will appear near the top right of the gradebook.|
Look for the Gradebook Versions link in your toolbox.
From the list of teachers at your site, uncheck the boxes next to the names of those who wish to downgrade to GB3 gradebook, and then click the Submit button.
Should a teacher wish to upgrade to GB4 at a later date, simply return to this page and check the box next to that teacher's name and then click the Submit button.
It is safe to switch users to the old version of the gradebook either before or after using the new version of the gradebook. In other words, teachers will not lose grades if they switch versions. However if teacher have begun to use the new features, they will be lost and will revert back to the original gradebook defaults. For example, the new gradebook allows teachers to create multiple grade scales that may be applied to individual students. If a teacher reverts back to the old gradebook, all students in that gradebook will revert back to the default grade scale applied to their class.